So I failed

Yup, I failed. I set myself the challenge of blogging every day during November, and have spectacularly failed! 

Failing isn’t something I do particularly well. I hate not achieving what I’ve set out to do, or not delivering the very best I can in any situation. My Mum’s favourite refrain is ‘Lesley, when will you learn you’re not Superwoman’… and my constant response is ‘NEVER!’. Because to me, the day I stop striving for perfection and demanding the highest standards possible from myself is the day I stop caring about my life, my business and my self respect. 

I know I demand a huge amount of myself, I know I’m harder on myself than anyone else would be – but that’s the way I am. 

But, on this occasion, I knew something had to give. I knew that I couldn’t give everything I needed to give to my current business assignments, and keep a household going, and have some fun downtime, and rest sufficiently, and care for a poorly, elderly dog, and blog. Something had to give, and it was the writing which I considered to be most expendable. So I haven’t written every day. That doesn’t mean the ideas aren’t flowing or that I don’t have things I want to write out – far from it. It just means I needed to be a little kind to myself and cut myself some slack. The blog posts that are important will still get written, just in slower time. To be honest, they’ll be better for it. 

Maybe, finally, my Mum will be proud of me. I’ve started to learn my limitations. 

About The Marketing Angel

Inspired by those with the passion to succeed, I work with business owners to create tailored strategies for cost effective lead generation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So I failed

  1. Steve Smith says:

    To fail sometimes is the best tool I know, it shows your human. To me failing is a good fixing tool, gives one the chance to alter and/or change direction. Its not a weakness. But More of an opportunity.

Leave a Reply

